CTA Miriam Wolfe Scholarship


The CTA Miriam Wolfe Scholarship was established in 1988 in memory of CTA alum Miriam Wolfe who died in the bombing of Pan Am Flight 103 over Lockerbie, Scotland.  Miriam’s mother Rosemary Mild often participates in the scholarship selection process, and gives the winners an autographed copy of her book “Miriam’s World – and Mine.”  The scholarship is supported by concession sales at CTA events throughout the year.   CTA grants two scholarships, $1,500 and $1,000 to two CTA kids who have participated fully and given back to the organization.


Who Can Apply

Graduating high school seniors who are members of CTA may participate by submitting the application and any other supporting material to the scholarship committee.



  • Completed application
  • Be a high school senior.
  • Have a grade point average of 2.5 or higher on a 4.0 scale.
  • Be a current member of Children’s Theatre of Annapolis (CTA). If you are not a current member of CTA, please enclose the $10.00 membership fee with your application.
  • Plan to pursue an interest in performing arts at the college level. This includes both artistic and technical aspects of the performing arts. Please note: This scholarship does not require the applicant to major in the performing arts in order to be eligible.
  • Complete the application according to directions, including the required essay questions. The use of additional pages is accepted. Do NOT include personal resumes.
  • Provide one (1) letter of recommendation from an adult individual associated with the performing arts. The recommendation CANNOT be from a relative of the applicant.
  • Submit the completed application, essays, and letter of recommendation electronically to ctascholarship@gmail.com no later than 11:59 p.m. on May 1, 2017.


Please note:  To qualify for consideration of this scholarship, all criteria above must be met and the information provided on the application must be complete.  This includes the verified GPA and a signature from a school counselor or an official High School transcript.


Please note: By submitting this application, the applicant acknowledges that he/she is no longer eligible to participate in CTA productions as a student performer as of the end of the current school year.



Who Makes the Decisions

The CTA board established a scholarship committee for the purpose grading and selecting perspective recipients. The scholarship committee is comprised of CTA board members and three outside judges. These non-CTA members are selected carefully so they do not have any connection to any of the applicants.


How is the Selection Made

The applications are read and graded carefully using the following a system:

  • 20 points for contributions to CTA (both performing and technical)
  • 15 points for other participation in performing arts (both performing or technical)
  • 30 points for a 200-word or less essay. How have you contributed to CTA and
    how has CTA contributed to you?
  • 10 points for training in the performing arts
  • 10 points for special honors or awards for work in the performing arts
  • 15 points for other activities (not in the performing arts) that you have
    participated in during grade 9-12. (Community, church, school, sports, etc.)
  • 10 point for letters of recommendation

Total possible points = 100

Applicants must grade at 80 points or better to be considered for the award.


How Many Awards are There and What Happens with a Tie

CTA will award a maximum of 2 scholarships, one for $1,500 and the second for $1,000. In the case of a point tie, the funds will be equally divided and each will received $1,250.


What Happens if No One Wins

In the event that no applicant meets the required 80 points, the funds will be held for future years. Any funds raised from concession in excess of the scholarship amounts will be held over for future years. The hope is to build the fund over years and possibly raise the scholarship amounts in the future.


Questions? Please contact the scholarship committee at ctascholarship@gmail.com or 410-757-2281 if you have any questions.




Previous recipients:

2017 – Matthew Lucente, Ella Green

2016 – Alexandra Baca, Geneva Croteau

2015 – Elizabeth Steele, Colleen Coleman

2014 – Maddie Poole, Cassidy Hamilton

2013 – Austin Heemstra, Nick Brice

2012 – Jessica Straub, Mark Hollerbach

2011 – Justin Binnix, Zachary Konick

2010 – Molly Dukes, Steve Mangum

2009 – RJ Pavel, Katherine Riddle

2008 – Lindsay Espinosa, Bethany Lamolinara

2007 – Chris Engler, Josh Konick

2006 – Katie Gardner, Jillian Foley

2005 – Andrew Lincoln, Brittany Taylor

2004 – Jamie Boyle, Elena Crall

2003 – Kerry Deitrick, Eileen Keck, Angie Boss

2002 – Carrie Ponder, Brian Hoffman

2001 – Hayley Clark

2000 – Kathleen Scott

1999 – Robin Beers, Katy Smith

1998 – Josh McGuire

1997 – Christopher Dahl

1996 – Justin Brill

1995 – Karen Zucco

1994 – Susan Woda

1993 – Tiffany Baldwin

1992 – Lauren Kirby

1991 – Karl-Erik Johnson

1990 – Nicole Roblyer



Miriam Luby Wolfe
September 26, 1968 – December 21, 1988